top of page

Getting Familiar With My New Family


***Note - These posts are a bit out of order for many different reasons. I hope it doesn't detract from the story.

I arrived in Iloilo on a Sunday and my hosts took every step to make sure that felt welcome and at home (See previous blog, "Adventures in Iloilo'). As much fun as that first night was, I was still a bit apprehensive about what my experience here would be. This place is formal. I mean really formal. Not only do students address adults as 'sir' or 'ma'am' but adults address each other this way. Even the closest of friends call each other sir or ma'am in casual conversation. This formality is tied to religion. It should be said that the people here are generally much more religious than they are formal. Students pray before class (Usually a student is called on to lead the class). Prayers are said before meals and during car rides. Altars exist in the schools where students and teachers alike can say a prayer. There is even a Wednesday Mass at school (attended by virtually every student). There are two predictable questions that I've been asked when meeting someone new here: First, am I married (everyone is on the lookout on behalf of their non-married friends, and second, am I Catholic (followed by, "but you're a Christian, right?") Nobody seems to mind that I'm not, but I suspect that it makes me even more of an oddity. Even after the great time we had that first night, I think that I believed that when we got to school, it would be all business.

Monday was a national holiday in the Philippines. Students didn't have class because it was Eid, the end of the holy month of Ramadan (How about that?). Since we had the day off, my host took me around to meet some students. First we visited SOS Village, a refuge for children similar to the Virlanie Foundation that I visited in Manila. I met exceptionally shy children who may or may not have ever seen a foreigner before. It was an eye-opening experience.

Next, we went to Katunggan Park where students from Legenes High School (the school where my host teacher worked until being transferred to Zarraga this year) were planting mangroves as a means of protecting the local eco-system.. First, remove all concepts of a park that enter your mind. It is a field of mangroves that is exposed during low tide. We got out of the car at the end of a muddy road. Even the goats and ducks were staring as if to question why I was there. Zoilo, my host teacher, directed me down a narrow muddy path (see photo above). that seemed to just keep going. It had rained the night before, so it was exceptionally slippery. I think that the people with me were sure that I was going into the murky waters. The mud path gave way to bamboo bridges that went over the mangroves and the river. I don't believe that the architects of this system of bridges, walkways and raised cottages had someone like me in mind. I was now convinced that I was going in the water..

We finally made it to the main out building where Zoilo's former students were waiting. Their reaction, when they saw him, made me realize that everything on this adventure would be okay. Actually, my feelings were allayed a bit back at the SOS Village. Every time we met a student, they would shake my hand, then hold the back of my hand to their forehead (A typical sign of respect as well as to receive a blessing from the more revered person). When the kids went to do the dame to him, he wasn't having it. He'd block their attempt with a laugh and a hug. Now at Katunggan, the students saw their former teacher and immediately surrounded him, hugged him, told him they missed him, and wished that he'd return. It's the reaction that students have to a really good teacher. I've seen that reaction in response to so many talented teachers. I knew immediately that Zoilo was one of them.

After some brief introductions, a prayer and a song, it was time to get planting. The students removed their sandals since they would be working in the mud. Zoilo wouldn't hear of me being barefoot so he asked the male students to lend me their sandals (You could imagine how funny it was to them to see me try to get my Shrek-like feet into their small sandals. After finding a pair that I cold wedge me feet into, I was assigned to a detail of students who led me back the way we had come. As I slid in the mud, one brave student kept reminding me, "Despacito sir".

We finished the program with a game of charades. I was informed that i'd be acting out for one group while a student took the other group. After a few rounds, the word was 'Beautiful'. I pointed at all the kids and they all looked at each other and began with their guesses. I couldn't see what the other actor was doing, but her group got the word immediately. My group heard the word an began giggling at my corny, albeit genuine, attempt to endear myself to them. As with all school events that I've been to here, the program concluded with pictures. A lot of pictures.

As we left the park with the students and teachers, they all piled into tricycles (similar to Thai tuk-tuks) and were off. It was interesting to watch them pile in to these vehicles with their teachers , sometimes eight of them at a time. It;s something that would never be allowed to happen here, but it is the main means of transport for most kids. Zoilo secured us a tricycle and we were off. Every time we passed someone, the driver beeped his horn and pointed at me. I am a true oddity here, but that's okay. Nobody means anything by it, but they can't help but stare. I get it.

I learned a valuable lesson about my hosts this day. I leaned that we were the perfect fit for each other. Since this day, we've spent so much time laughing, joking and interacting with students. It's interesting that on the other side of the world are people so different from me in so many ways, but also so similar in that they just want to laugh, help kids and lead a good life. I am proud to know them.

*** Note - I should be able to upload more after Tuesday when I return to Manila. I probably have three or four of these left. I hope you've enjoyed the ride and will continue to do so.

Thank you.


Who's Behind The Blog
Recommanded Reading
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow "THIS JUST IN"
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page